Home
FAQ:什么是控制词汇?
十个你通常想问的问题
home ›  learning center ›  FAQ login 
  1. 什么是控制词汇?
  2. 为什么使用控制词汇很重要?
  3. 什么是索引?
  4. 什么沟通了使用者的自然语言和控制词汇间的鸿沟?
  5. 映射的意思是什么?
  6. 怎样使用控制词汇?
  7. 在信息资源上使用控制词汇的优点有哪些?
  8. 控制词汇中的专业名词和概念起源于哪儿?
  9. 控制词汇只用于口腔医学吗?
  10. 使控制词汇运作的最好方法是什么?

Can't find a question? Please ask here:

enter your e-mail:


question:

Captcha code:
    Type the captcha code:


     

  1. 什么是控制词汇?

  2. 控制词汇是一系列预定义的用以描述信息资源,像教科书,期刊和网上数据库中所涵盖的概念的专业名词。 有几十个有关生物医学和健康科学的词汇。这个FAQ中的解释和举例都是以医学主题词表(MeSH), 美国国家医学图书馆 (NLM) PubMed 控制词汇为基础的。PubMed是美国国家医学图书馆(NLM)书目数据库, MEDLINE的搜索引擎,其包含了生物医学和健康科学的所有领域, 包括口腔医学的数以万计的期刊论文的记录。

    top

     

  3. 为什么使用控制词汇很重要?

  4. 自然语言—人们通常说话和书写的方式—范围太宽泛。可以用很多方式来形容同一事物。例如轿车,汽车,交通工具,出租车马自达都可表达 汽车的概念。但是马自达还指一种马的种类,出租车不仅可以定义一事物还可以描述一种行为。

    控制词汇去除了自然语言中模棱两可的本来意思。例如,如果你想在大黄页里找关于轿车保险的信息, 你将被引导到查看预定义的控制的专业名词汽车保险。控制词汇帮助将使用者的自然语言与信息资源如期刊论文和书本中被正式使用于描述, 组织和分类数据的词汇相符合。

    top

     

  5. 什么是索引?

  6. screenshot 索引是一个确定专有单词和短语(术语)以代表信息资源如书本和期刊中所包含的想法和念头(概念)的过程。 国家医学图书馆(NLM)的索引者使用医学主题词表(MeSH)词汇去描述MEDLINE中生物医学期刊论文记录中的概念。 PubMed中的每个MEDLINE记录都包含数个已经被索引者确定的医学主题词表(MeSH)专业名词。

    top

     

  7. 什么沟通了使用者的自然语言和控制词汇间的鸿沟?

  8. 在控制词汇中,不同类型的专业名词可以和同一概念联系起来:

    • 首选术语是指一直被用来代表一个概念的单词或短语。将它认为是代表那个概念的控制词汇中的正式术语。
    • 入选术语或者是首选术语的同义词,或者跟首选术语在某些方面相近。它和首选术语 有明确的相关性,并引导使用者找到它。

      一个医学主题词表(MeSH)中的例子
      笑气是首选术语一氧化氮的入选术语。

      大多数MeSH中的概念都有不只一个的入选术语
      例如: 口腔溃疡阿弗他溃疡都是首选术语口腔炎,阿弗他的入选术语。同样还有口疮,口疳,溃疡和阿弗他
    • 入选术语是一类非首选术语。非首选术语是首选术语的近义词或其他相关词汇。在一个搜索引擎中, 一个不是入选术语的非首选术语同样可引导使用者找到首选术语,这取决于该搜索引擎映射术语的方式。

    top

     

  9. 映射的意思是什么?

  10. 映射就是将非首选术语与控制词汇或属于其他搜索引擎系统程序中的术语联系起来的过程。PubMed使用自动术语映射, 其可将使用者所搜索的术语跟MeSH中的首选术语和备选术语相匹配,还可与其他未知同义词, 变体和PubMed信息系统部分中的其他形式的信息相匹配。

    举例:
    在PubMed中搜索白斑或牙齿龋坏,将被映射到首选术语龋齿白斑是龋齿的备选术语。 牙齿龋坏不是备选术语,但它在PubMed系统中可被映射到首选术语。

    在PubMed中搜索口腔癌或口腔肿瘤,将被映射至首选术语口腔新生物口腔癌是口腔新生物的备选术语。 口腔肿瘤不是备选术语,但PubMed能将它与系统中的其他信息相匹配。

    top

     

  11. 怎样使用控制词汇?

  12. 包含有关特别话题内容(文章,摘要,章节等)的信息资源(期刊,书,信,论文等)被索引至描述该话题的首选术语。 其他经常使用的,意思相同或相近的单词和短语被用作备选术语使用以引导使用者找到首选术语。这些术语可被映射以帮助搜寻者找到相关信息。

    top

     

  13. 在信息资源上使用控制词汇的优点有哪些?

    • 控制词汇增加了索引的一致性。当和搜索引擎,如PubMed,联合使用时,它可以帮助减小学科范围并使结果更为精确。
    • 使用控制词汇使彼此相关的资源能更简单的被汇总在一起。
    • 使用首选术语,查找某一特别学科信息的使用者不用知道该学科被不同作者表达的所有不同的方式, 也不用把它们都输入到搜索中。首选术语将自动包含同义词和其他相关术语。

    top

     

  14. 控制词汇中的专业名词和概念起源于哪儿?

  15. 词汇被控制它的管理体所保持。这样一个管理系统同样负责内容的开发和质量保证。 MeSH在NLM部门的专家是每年对MeSH词汇进行修正和更新的控制权威。他们同样也接受来自索引者和使用者的建议, 并收集在科学文献或新兴研究领域出现的新术语。这些专家用现有词汇定义这些新术语并将它们添加到MeSH中。

    top

     

  16. 控制词汇只用于口腔医学吗?

  17. SNODENT,口腔医学术语系统命名法,被设计为美国牙科协会当前牙科术语治疗规范的诊断手册。 SNODENT将为电子健康记录提供牙科诊断规范。

    top

     

  18. 使控制词汇运作的最好方法是什么?

  19. 试试如下应用:

    • 应用#1
      使用PubMed搜索MEDLINE  PubMed的网址是http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/。 在搜索栏里输入“口腔癌”。搜索完成后,点击“详细”标签,看“疑问翻译”, 其显示了你的搜索被映射出的首选术语和非首选术语(如果有),及搜索是怎样被执行的。
      pubmed_screen
    • 应用#2
      使用MeSH的数据库  MeSH数据库的网址是 http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/sites/entrez?db=mesh。 (不用被弄迷糊,MeSH数据库的网站看起来很像PubMed的网站。)MeSH数据库被用于索引PubMed的文章。

      从搜索术语口腔癌开始,口腔癌被映射至口腔新生物。打开口腔新生物的MeSH记录 (以下)。

      向下滚动以浏览口腔新生物的备选术语的全部清单。继续向下滚动查看口腔新生物是如何符合MeSH的层次体系或“树”系统。
      pubmed

    top

最近更新: Feb. 5, 2015
编撰者: Evone Jeffries

 

Can't find a question? Please ask here:

enter your e-mail:


question:

Captcha code:
    Type the captcha code:




Comments:

No comments posted yet. Be the first to share your thoughts.

 

Share your thoughts, post a new comment on this page.
Login required for posting. Join the Community.

Read Terms of Use

Home
FAQ: What is controlled vocabulary?
Ten Questions You Always Wanted to Ask
home ›  learning center ›  FAQ login 
  1. What is a controlled vocabulary?
  2. Why is using a controlled vocabulary important?
  3. What is indexing?
  4. What bridges the gap between the user’s natural language and the controlled vocabulary?
  5. What does mapping mean?
  6. How is a controlled vocabulary used?
  7. What are some of the advantages in using controlled vocabulary for information resources?
  8. Where do the terms and concepts in a controlled vocabulary originate?
  9. Is there a controlled vocabulary just for dentistry?
  10. What is the best way to see controlled vocabulary in action?

Can't find a question? Please ask here:

enter your e-mail:


question:

Captcha code:
    Type the captcha code:


     

  1. What is a controlled vocabulary?

  2. A controlled vocabulary is a predefined list of terms used to describe concepts covered in information resources like textbooks, journals, and online databases. There are dozens of such vocabularies relevant to the biomedical and health sciences. The explanations and examples in this FAQ are based on Medical Subject Headings (MeSH), the United States National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) controlled vocabulary for PubMed. PubMed is the search engine for NLM’s bibliographic database, MEDLINE, which includes records from millions of journal articles in all areas of biomedical and health science, including dentistry.

    top

     

  3. Why is using a controlled vocabulary important?

  4. Natural language—the way people usually talk and write--has an extensive range. There are many ways to say the same thing. For instance car, auto, vehicle, taxi, and Mustang all express the concept automobile. But Mustang is also a type of horse, and taxi not only defines a thing but also describes an action.

    Controlled vocabulary removes the ambiguity inherent in natural language. For example, if you wanted to find information about car insurance in the Yellow Pages, you would be directed to look under the predefined controlled term auto insurance. Controlled vocabulary helps match the natural language of users with that used to formally describe, organize, and categorize data in information resources such as journal articles and books.

    top

     

  5. What is indexing?

  6. screenshot Indexing is a process of assigning specific words and phrases (terms) to represent thoughts or ideas (concepts) contained in information resources such as books and journals. NLM indexers use the MeSH vocabulary to describe the concepts in MEDLINE’s biomedical journal article records. Each MEDLINE record in PubMed includes multiple MeSH terms that have been assigned to it by indexers.

    top

     

  7. What bridges the gap between the user’s natural language and the controlled vocabulary?

  8. In a controlled vocabulary, different types of terms can be associated with the same concept:

    • A preferred term is the word or phrase that is used consistently to represent a concept. Think of it as the controlled vocabulary’s “official” term for that concept.
    • An entry term is either a synonym of the preferred term or closely related to it in some other way. It is explicitly associated with the preferred term and is used to guide the user to it.

      Example from MeSH:
      Laughing Gas is an entry term for the preferred term Nitrous Oxide.

      Most concepts in MeSH have more than one entry term.
      Example: Canker Sore and Aphthous Ulcer are both entry terms for the preferred term Stomatitis, Aphthous. So are the variants Sores, Canker and Ulcers, Aphthous.
    • Entry terms are a type of non-preferred term. Non-preferred terms are synonyms or other relatives of preferred terms. In a search engine, a non-preferred term that isn’t an entry term may still be used to guide the user to the preferred term, depending on the way that the search engine maps the term.

    top

     

  9. What does mapping mean?

  10. Mapping is the process of associating non-preferred terms with terms in the controlled vocabulary or in other utilities that are part of the search engine’s system. PubMed uses automatic term mapping, which matches the user’s search term with not only MeSH preferred and entry terms but also with other known synonyms, variants, and other types of information that are part of PubMed’s information system.

    Examples:
    A PubMed search for either White Spots or Tooth Decay will be mapped to the preferred term Dental Caries. White Spots is an entry term for Dental Caries. Tooth Decay is not an entry term, but it is known to PubMed’s system and can be mapped to the preferred term.

    A PubMed search for Oral Cancer or Mouth Tumor will be mapped to the preferred term, Mouth Neoplasms. Oral Cancer is an entry term for Mouth Neoplasms. Mouth Tumor is not an entry term, but PubMed can match it to other information in the system.

    top

     

  11. How is a controlled vocabulary used?

  12. Information resources (journals, books, letters, papers, etc.) that contain content (articles, abstracts, chapters, etc.) about or pertaining to a particular topic are indexed with preferred terms that describe that topic. Other commonly used words and phrases that are similar or equivalent in meaning are used as entry terms to guide the user to the preferred term. These terms can be mapped to help searchers retrieve relevant information.

    top

     

  13. What are some of the advantages in using controlled vocabulary for information resources?

    • A controlled vocabulary increases indexing consistency. When incorporated into a search engine such as PubMed, it helps to narrow subject areas and make search results more precise.
    • Using controlled terms makes it easier to bring together resources that are relevant to each other.
    • With a preferred term, a user searching for information on a particular subject doesn’t have to think up all the different ways that the subject might be expressed by authors and type them into the search. The preferred term automatically includes synonyms and other closely related terms.

    top

     

  14. Where do the terms and concepts in a controlled vocabulary originate?

  15. The vocabulary is maintained by the organizing body that controls it. Such an organization is also responsible for the development and quality assurance of the content. The MeSH Section staff specialists at the NLM are the control authority who revise and update the MeSH vocabulary annually. They also receive suggestions from indexers and users and collect new terms as they appear in the scientific literature or in emerging areas of research. The staff specialists define these terms within the context of existing vocabulary and recommend their addition to MeSH.

    top

     

  16. Is there a controlled vocabulary just for dentistry?

  17. SNODENT, the Systematized Nomenclature of Dentistry, was designed as a diagnostic companion to the Current Dental Terminology treatment codes of the American Dental Association. SNODENT will provide dental diagnostic codes for the electronic health record.

    top

     

  18. What is the best way to see controlled vocabulary in action?

  19. Try these exercises:

    • Exercise #1
      Search MEDLINE using PubMed.  PubMed is available at http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/.  Type “oral cancer” into the search box.  After searching, click on the “Details” tab and look at the “Query Translation”, which shows which MeSH preferred and non-preferred terms (if any) your search was mapped to and how the search was executed.
      pubmed_screen
    • Exercise #2
      Play with the MeSH Database  The MeSH Database can be accessed at http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/sites/entrez?db=mesh. (Don’t be tricked – the MeSH Database access website looks very similar to the PubMed website.)  The MeSH database is used to index articles for PubMed.

      Start by searching for the term oral cancer, which maps to Mouth Neoplasms. Open the Mouth Neoplasms MeSH record (below).

      Scroll down to see a complete list of the Entry Terms for Mouth Neoplasms. Scroll down further to see how Mouth Neoplasms fits into MeSH’s hierarchy or “tree” system.
      pubmed

    top

Last update: Feb. 5, 2015
Authored by: Evone Jeffries

 

Can't find a question? Please ask here:

enter your e-mail:


question:

Captcha code:
    Type the captcha code:




Comments:

dr.nair (14 ), 12/30/2009:
Nice its new to me

 

Share your thoughts, post a new comment on this page.
Login required for posting. Join the Community.

Read Terms of Use