Home
FAQ: 什么是口腔生物信息学?
10个你经常会问到的问题
home ›  learning center ›  FAQ login 
  1. 什么是生物信息学?
  2. 什么是口腔生物信息学?
  3. 学习口腔生物信息学需要什么背景知识?
  4. 我可以从哪些地方了解更多口腔生物信息学?
  5. 受过口腔生物信息学训练后,可以解决什么样的议题/问题?
  6. 如果我对口腔生物信息学的职业感兴趣,有特定的编程语言/项目是我应该学习的吗?
  7. 为理解口腔生物信息学,需学过的课程的例子是什么?
  8. 口腔生物信息学能怎样促进患者护理?
  9. 我是个牙科医生,我想加入一个口腔生物信息学的项目,我应该在哪申请?
  10. 口腔生物信息学家有就业需求吗?

Can't find a question? Please ask here:

enter your e-mail:


question:

Captcha code:
    Type the captcha code:


     

  1. 什么是生物信息学?

  2. 人类基因组排序促进了扫描个体整个基因组技术的发展。今天,只用几百美元,我们就能识别个体DNA中的大部分变型, 测量一块组织中的所有人类基因的RNA表达或是测试一个生物样本中数以千计的蛋白存在。 庞大数量的数据的管理和分析需要大量使用计算机和专业方法的发展。生物信息学是一门使用人工智能,统计和工程学, 开发和使用这些计算方法以分析基因信息的科学。基因信息的计算分析已经极大的改变了很多生物医学领域的面貌,如,肿瘤学,免疫学和药学。

    top

     

  3. 什么是口腔生物信息学?

  4. 像每个生物医学领域,口腔医学已经引进基因和生物信息学方法以分析和理解有关口腔健康的生物过程。 口腔生物信息学描述了通过计算机和统计/机器学习方式的使用以理解口腔相关的生物信息。庞大数量的数据库, 这些数据库积累自高生产量的生物和化学实验,如整个基因组排序,DNA微序列芯片,双杂交试验,蛋白芯片和串联物质分光术, 都需要计算机方法描述和分析这些数据。

    top

     

  5. 学习口腔生物信息学需要什么背景知识?

  6. 为了学习口腔生物信息学,口腔信息学的培训是被推荐的,但不是必需。额外培训的需要根据个人情况而定, 你是否有生物或计算/数学的背景。如果有生物背景,对结构编程语言(见FAQ6)有个一般的了解是很重要的, 更重要的是要有对统计和计算方法的了解。对有计算/数学背景的人来说,对生物系统,跟口腔生物医学有关的分子学和蛋白质组学 (如口腔病原体,口腔癌和头颈软组织/骨相关疾病)有个一般了解是需要的。后者可以通过与口腔基础/临床研究人员工作以了解生物问题。

    top

     

  7. 我可以从哪些地方了解更多口腔生物信息学?

  8. 口腔信息学网上社区(DIOC)是个很好的开始的地方。口腔信息学网上社区(DIOC)是个信息资源,并且有口腔生物信息学的链接。 你可以从搜索生物信息学项目开始。口腔信息学和医学信息学培训项目同样提供生物信息学课程。

    top

     

  9. 受过口腔生物信息学训练后,可以解决什么样的议题/问题?

  10. 生物信息学在口腔医学中的使用正在逐日增加。基因和生物信息学方法正广泛应用于很多领域,从颅面畸形的基因基础, 到牙周疾病的基础生物过程,到口腔癌的诊断和预后,到使用患者个案学习口腔癌进展。

    top

     

  11. 如果我对口腔生物信息学的职业感兴趣,有特定的编程语言/项目是我应该学习的吗?

  12. 是的,有。首先,我建议学习R,一种关于统计计算,图像和相关生物指导软件包 (bioconductor.org) 的语言和环境。生物指导软件包是一个公开的资源和公开的软件开发项目,该项目集中于基因数据的分析和理解。 就生物数据分析,我推荐的第二种语言是Perl。仅有一点甚至没有编程经验都可以学习Perl。 Perl可以在将数据剖析到更高级的生物信息学编程中的任务中使用。其他有用的编程语言包括MatLab, MySOL, SAS和SPSS。

    top

     

  13. 为理解口腔生物信息学,需学过的课程的例子是什么?

  14. 生物信息学导论会是一个很好的开始。相关话题的例子包括,计算/机器学习,基因和蛋白序列分析, 数据存储,计算功能性基因学,比较基因学,蛋白结构和功能,及生物蛋白工程学。导论课程中所学的技术方法能应用到大部分口腔研究的领域。 对一般生物信息学而言,MIT OpenCorseWare在网页上提供几门免费课程。例如:

    6.092生物信息学和蛋白质组学 [演讲]

    6.872J (HST. 950J)生物医学工程信息 [演讲]

    HST. 508基因学和计算生物学 [演讲]

    top

     

  15. 口腔生物信息学能怎样促进患者护理?
  16. 口腔生物信息学具有通过个人化口腔医学(个人基因的遗传变异怎样影响他或她对口腔诊断和治疗的生理过程和反应) 改善牙科患者护理质量的潜能。这些生物标志能够反映临床过程,从口腔癌进展到牙周疾病的进展。 几个正在进行中的研究项目集中于牙科种植体的骨愈合和整合,新的生物材料也正在分子基础上的评估中。 这些结果将有可能会增加牙科种植体的长期成功率。尽管该研究的大部分依赖于昂贵的技术,尚不能应用到临床中, 生物标志识别的一个主要目的是促使ELISA (酶联免疫吸附法) 试剂盒的发展以应用于牙科诊室。

    top

     

  17. 我是个牙科医生,我想加入一个口腔生物信息学的项目,我应该在哪申请?

  18. 目前,只有少量选择。如果你在寻找有口腔信息学项目的牙学院,这里有一些提供口腔信息学学位。

    • 哥伦比亚大学牙学院 [网址]
    • 哈佛大学医学院 [网址]
    • 匹兹堡大学牙学院 [网址]

    在这些口腔信息学项目中,你可以将你的课程学习集中在生物信息学上。其他两个选择是搜索医学信息学项目或者是注册生物信息学项目。生物信息学项目可能有计算机知识的要求。

    top

     

  19. 口腔生物信息学家有就业需求吗?

  20. 确实有。随着牙科生物分子研究课题变得越来越复杂,口腔生物信息学的需要也越来越迫切。口腔生物信息学家的任务举例如下, 研发相关数据库以整合临床口腔信息到基因信息,分析源自基因和蛋白技术的庞大数据库。不只是临床研究需要口腔生物信息学家, 口腔基础科学也需要。

top

最近更新: Feb. 5, 2015
撰写者: Winston Patrick Kuo 和 Marco Ramoni

 

Can't find a question? Please ask here:

enter your e-mail:


question:

Captcha code:
    Type the captcha code:




Comments:

No comments posted yet. Be the first to share your thoughts.

 

Share your thoughts, post a new comment on this page.
Login required for posting. Join the Community.

Read Terms of Use

Home
FAQ: What is dental bioinformatics?
Ten Questions You Always Wanted to Ask
home ›  learning center ›  FAQ login 
  1. What is bioinformatics?
  2. What is dental bioinformatics?
  3. What background is required to learn dental bioinformatics?
  4. Where can I learn more about dental bioinformatics?
  5. What kind of issues/problems an individual trained in dental bioinformatics address?
  6. If I am interested in pursuing a career in dental bioinformatics are there certain programming languages/programs I should learn?
  7. What would be a sample of courses needed to get a grasp of dental bioinformatics?
  8. How can dental bioinformatics improve patient care?
  9. I am a dentist and I would like to enroll into a dental bioinformatics program, where should I apply?
  10. Is there a need for Dental Bioinformaticians?

Can't find a question? Please ask here:

enter your e-mail:


question:

Captcha code:
    Type the captcha code:


     

  1. What is bioinformatics?

  2. The sequencing of the human genome has fostered the development of technologies able to scan the entire genome of a single individual. Today, for few hundreds dollars, we can identify most of the variants in the DNA of an individual, measure the RNA expression of all the human genes in a tissue or test the presence of thousands of proteins in a biological specimen. The management and analysis of this tremendous amount of data requires the massive use of computers and the development of specialized methods. Bioinformatics is the discipline that, using artificial intelligence, statistics, and engineering, develops and applies these computational methods to the analysis of genomic information. The computational analysis of genomic information has dramatically changed the face of many biomedical areas, such as, oncology, immunology, and pharmacology.

    top

     

  3. What is dental bioinformatics?

  4. Like every biomedical area, dentistry has seen the introduction of genomic and bioinformatics methods for the analysis and understanding of biological processes relevant to oral health. Dental bioinformatics describes use of computers and statistics/machine learning approaches to make sense of dental-related biological information. There are large quantities of data sets that are accumulating from high-throughput biological and chemical experiments, such as sequencing of whole genomes, DNA microarray chips, two-hybrid experiments, proteomic chips and tandem mass spectrometry that require computational approaches to parse and analyze these data.

    top

     

  5. What background is required to learn dental bioinformatics?

  6. Training in dental informatics is recommended, though not necessarily required, to learn dental bioinformatics. The need for additional training also depends on the individual, whether you have a biological or computational/quantitative background. In the case of a biological background, a general understanding of a structured programming language (see FAQ 6) is important, and even more important is the understanding of statistical and computational methods. For a person with a computational/quantitative background, a general understanding of biological systems, both molecular and proteomics related to dental biomedical issues (i.e., oral pathogens, oral cancer and head and neck soft tissue/bone related diseases) is necessary. The latter can also work closely with a dental basic/clinical researcher to understand the biological problem in question.

    top

     

  7. Where can I learn more about dental bioinformatics?

  8. The Dental Informatics Online Community (DIOC) is a great place to start. The DIOC is a resource with information and links on dental bioinformatics. One can start by searching Bioinformatics programs. Dental Informatics and Medical Informatics training programs also offer Bioinformatics courses.

    top

     

  9. What kind of issues/problems an individual trained in dental bioinformatics address?

  10. The applications of bioinformatics to dentistry are increasing by the day. Genomic and bioinformatics methods are used in a variety of fields ranging from the genetic bases of craniofacial anomalies, to the biological processes underpinning periodontal disease to the diagnosis and prognosis of oral cancer to studying the progression of oral cancer using patient samples.

    top

     

  11. If I am interested in pursuing a career in dental bioinformatics are there certain programming languages/programs I should learn?

  12. Yes there are. First, I would recommend learning R, a language and environment for statistical computing and graphics and related Bioconductor packages (bioconductor.org) Bioconductor packages are open source and open development software projects that are focused on the analysis and comprehension of genomic data. A second language I recommend for biological data analysis is Perl. Perl can be learned with little or no programming experience. Perl can be used for tasks as parsing data to more advanced bioinformatics programming. Other programming languages that are useful to know include MatLab, MySQL, SAS and SPSS.

    top

     

  13. What would be a sample of courses needed to get a grasp of dental bioinformatics?

  14. An introductory course in bioinformatics would be a great start. Examples of relevant topics includes, computational/machine learning, genomic and proteomic sequence analysis, data mining, computational functional genomics, comparative genomics, protein structure and function and biomolecular engineering. The computational tools learned in the introductory course can be applied to almost any area in dental research. For general bioinformatics, MIT OpenCorseWare offers several free couses on the web. In particular:

    6.092 Bioinformatics and Proteomics [Lectures]

    6.872J (HST.950J) Engineering Biomedical Information [Lectures]

    HST.508 Genomics and Computational Biology [Lectures]

    top

     

  15. How can dental bioinformatics improve patient care?
  16. Dental bioinformatics has the potential to improve the quality of care provided to dental patients via personalized dentistry (how inherited variations in an individual's genes affect how his or her body processes and responds to dental diagnostics and treatments). These biomarkers are able to profile clinical processes ranging from oral cancer progression to periodontal disease progression. Several ongoing research projects that are focused on healing and integration of bone to dental implants and new bio-materials are being evaluated on the molecular basis. These results will potentially improve the long-term survival of dental implants in our patients. Although most of this research is based on technology too expensive to be readily deployed in the clinic, a major goal of biomarker identification is to enable the development of ELISA (Enzyme-Linked ImmunoSorbent Assay) kits that can be used in the dental offices.

    top

     

  17. I am a dentist and I would like to enroll into a dental bioinformatics program, where should I apply?

  18. Currently, there are a few options. If you are looking for dental schools that have a Dental Informatics program there are a few that offer a degree in Dental Informatics.

    • Columbia University School of Dental Medicine [Site]
    • Harvard School of Dental Medicine [Site]
    • University of Pittsburg School of Dental Medicine [Site]

    Within each Dental Informatics program, you can focus your coursework on Bioinformatics. Two other options would be exploring Medical Informatics programs or enrolling into a Bioinformatics program. The Bioinformatics program may have computational pre-requisites.

    top

     

  19. Is there a need for Dental Bioinformaticians?

  20. Indeed there is. As dental bio-molecular research projects become more and more complex the need for Dental Bioinformaticians becomes greater. Examples of Dental Bioinformatician tasks include, developing a relational database to integrate clinical dental information to genomic information and analyzing large data sets generated from genomic and proteomic technologies. Not only is there a need for Dental Bioinformaticians in the clinical research settings, but also in the dental basic sciences.

top

Last update: Feb. 5, 2015
Authored by: Winston Patrick Kuo and Marco Ramoni

 

Can't find a question? Please ask here:

enter your e-mail:


question:

Captcha code:
    Type the captcha code:




Comments:

No comments posted yet. Be the first to share your thoughts.

 

Share your thoughts, post a new comment on this page.
Login required for posting. Join the Community.

Read Terms of Use