Home
FAQ: 关于增添新技术到你的口腔诊室,你需要知道些什么?
七个你常问到的问题
home ›  learning center ›  FAQ login 
  1. 引进技术到我的牙科诊室,我能从中获得什么?
  2. 我的临床实践需怎样准备以添加技术?
  3. 面临这么多选择,我怎么知道哪个是最好的?还是所有推销的东西我都要买?
  4. 我不得不一次性添加计算机,新软件,数值化照相技术,数字化放射影像技术等吗?
  5. 计算机可以使用多长时间?如果他们出故障了怎么办?
  6. 我怎样做能保证购买的技术可以获得长期的成功?
  7. 数字化放射影像系统的优点是什么?

Can't find a question? Please ask here:

enter your e-mail:


question:

Captcha code:
    Type the captcha code:


     

  1. 引进技术到我的牙科诊室,我能从中获得什么?
  2. 添加技术到你的牙科诊室能从各个方面改变你的临床实践,从工作被完成的方式到你和患者交流的方式。技术会影响患者护理,工作效率和收入。你所使用技术的数量和技术被使用的方式会决定改变和好处的多少。

    添加安装了实践管理软件的计算机到你的前台,而且你的职员对该软件有很好的知识和培训, 那么该软件能增加你的工作效率,生产力,患者交流和收入。一项最近的调查显示,椅旁计算机的使用包括:77.9%用于预约, 63.9%用于制定治疗计划,60.7%用于患者教育,58.2%用于硬组织制表和54.1%用于牙周状况制表。 该调查还显示了牙科医生使用椅旁计算机有三方面的原因。1.诊室效率和操作,2.诊断和治疗,和3.患者教育和认知。 最主要的三个原因是促进数据管理,例如直接输入治疗计划和预约;数值化影像处理,基本的数值化放射影像学技术;和增加工作效率, 例如直接预约到牙椅[1]。数字化放射影像技术,数字化照相技术,配备计算机的牙椅,实践管理和教育软件可以增加患者护理和教育的质量, 增加治疗的接受度,提高患者记录的效率已经提高整个诊室的工作力和工作效率。当然,对职员进行培训是必不可少的。一旦这些技术就位, 其他技术领域也可能被添加进来,包括诊断,修复体预备,设计和制造。

    “关于数字化技术我最喜欢的一点在于我们不用再去制作表格了。”
    Dr. Mary Bennardi, Muncy, PA

    “技术给了我不可思议的信息量,这些信息关系到我的临床实践,并且为我的口腔临床实践点燃了火花。”  
    Dr. Thomas Barberio, Muncy, PA

    “我很享受这种可以随时回想到数据,资料的储存也很简单的方式,我的临床实践变得更有效率了。我在以前用于保存表格的房间里安放了另一个牙椅!”
    Dr. Robert Chianelli, Montoursville, PA


    top

     

  3. 我的临床实践需怎样准备以添加技术?

  4. 数字化是必要的过程,花时间做计划是成功安装和更新技术的一个关键。评估你的临床实践, 问你和你的职员以下问题:对于我的临床实践,我喜欢什么?我想做些什么改变?那些现有技术是我已有并想一直保有的? 我听到我的患者讨论了些什么?我有能支持我向技术转变的合适职员吗?为能成功使用技术,我的职员该受些什么培训? 我需要些什么培训?我想投多少钱?我的职员会怎样适应变化?为支持这些改变,我需做些什么?我的时间表? 我需寻求顾问吗?这些有多少是我自己想做的?这个区域里的其他执业医师都有些什么?

    如果可能的话,参观目前已在使用技术的其他口腔诊所,看看它是怎么行动的。带上你的职员并争求他们的意见。 数字化的成功很大程度上有赖于整个团队能保持一致,需要大量的交流。在第一台计算机就位前安排教育的机会可以减少压力, 使转变更加容易。一些好方法: 安排一天的服务,并让人展示计算机101—可能在你的职员中就有人精通计算机或是认识精通计算机的人。从最近的调查中, 我们发现在给出回应的牙科医生中有58%上过计算机课程,并且有42%表示他们对计算机“非常满意”[1]。

    在相机买来之前,学习数字化照相技术是另一个打破坚冰的好方法。能拍摄更好的照片是你的职员无论在工作还是生活中都会欣赏的。 如果你正引进现有技术,提供机会让你的职员可以充实自己的知识,这样的话,你的职员会建立起他们的信心, 也建立起你对他们能力的信心。

    有时候使牙科诊室计算机话可以分步骤进行[2]。Rada建议可以先将诊室的管理计算机化,然后再引进牙科制表[2]。 在开始之前,每个个人必须以一个团队的方式在一起工作以保证过程中的每一步都被接受并成为现实[2]。 此外,Rada提醒我们“人们需要时间去接受,准备和熟练操作一项新的技术”[2]。

    top

     

  5. 面临这么多选择,我怎么知道哪个是最好的?还是所有推销的东西我都要买?
  6. 每个牙科实践都是独一无二的,它和你的需要决定了什么是应该添加的,什么是不该添加的。 研究是决定添加技术的另一个重要因素。使用继续教育,发表的文章,书籍,杂志,交易展览会,你的同事, 网络,顾问和推销商等资源收集信息。如果你用顾问,要确定他或她花时间了解你和你的临床实践的需要。目前, 占据市场最多的包括:26.2%Dentrix, 9.8%Easy Dental,15%SoftDent, 7.9%PracticeWork, 11%EagleSoft[1].

    对你添加的技术满意会增加成功的可能。在任何可能的时候,部件的整合是有帮助的。 将一台口内照相机整合到你现有的传递系统中可减少混乱,并且更为方便,但是它可能不是那个具有你想要的功能的照相机。 购买整体设备有它的优点,但是却常常让你不能买到你认为最好的那个设备。在确定新设备能与你现有设备和软件兼容的情况下, 从不同的生产商那里购买设备也是有可能的。


    top

     

  7. 我不得不一次性添加计算机,新软件,数值化照相技术,数字化放射影像技术等吗?

  8. 看你为你的数字化诊室所制定的计划以及你的诊室需要些什么以成功的实现数字化将决定你引进数字化的速度。 你要付出努力以确定你是否已为购买设备腾出了空间,并决定购买可兼容的设备,如果被耽搁,新的或是更新的设备也是可能会需要的。

    一些技术,像是数字化放射影像技术,可以大大减少学习时间,因为它与你现在日常已是在使用技术很相似。 记住你应为你的临床实践制定一个可以遵守的适应时间表。和其他已经经历过这个过程的人谈谈, 会帮你洞悉到他们可能已经遇到的得和失以及你能避免它们的方法。

    top

     

  9. 计算机可以使用多长时间?如果他们出故障了怎么办?
  10. 添加技术到你的诊室随着时间将增加你的更新费用。就像需要更新你的机头和车针一样, 你将需要更新你的计算机。一台计算机的使用寿命平均是5-7年。经常,不是因为计算机本身坏了, 而是发行的更新的软件需要更复杂和强大的部件去操作它。在你每年的预算中建一个技术分类会有所帮助, 这个分类是为软件更新,防病毒软件,备份,计算机修理,计算机维护和设备而建。 每年没用完的经费可以滚入下一年,这样节省的计算机经费可在当你的计算机需要更新时被使用。

    计算机不时地会出现小故障,但是这些故障可以因对计算机进行合适的维护而最小化。 就像我们的患者需要常规的洁牙和检查,我们的计算机也是。如果你有个精通技术的职员,每一个月或每两个月, 他或她可以完成常规的更新和硬件维护的任务。这个维护可以防止很多会妨碍计算机正常工作的故障的发生。 如果你的服务器不能用,别担心。你仍然可以做的你牙科工作。现在的根尖片在它的附着袋里有定影剂和显影剂。 你拍个X-光片,在附着袋里打开胶囊,将化学剂摇进袋里,通过X-光片,等上两分钟,你就可以得到影像。如果需要, 患者可以完成病史,所有能在纸上完成的摘记和图表可以稍后再输入。

    top

     

  11. 我怎样做能保证购买的技术可以获得长期的成功?

  12. 考虑参加关于牙科技术的继续教育课程,在你的诊室开展业务学习日以复习和学习关于你的设备和软件的更多特色。 很多诊室就只使用了他们的软件的一小部分功能。充实你的职员的知识,让你的职员在一定的软件和硬件方面成为“专家”。 这会给他们主人翁感,并造就了一个当其他职员有问题或麻烦时能“去”帮忙的人。

    top

     

  13. 数字化放射影像系统的优点是什么?

  14. 患者在一个19寸的显示屏上和在2”x2”的看片灯上看他们的X-光片的反应是数字化系统的一个优点。 大多数患者不能理解X-光片上的细微差别,但当你在19寸的咬合片上指给患者看牙齿间的黑色区域时, 他们能够明白邻面间的龋坏。对你的临床实践来说,更重要的是使用数字化放射影像技术节省了你的时间。 一个根尖片用时5到7秒对5到10分钟。没拍到根尖?你的助手只用再花另一个5到7秒钟重拍一张, 并且拍两次X-光片的放射线暴露比传统的拍一次根尖片的还少。数字化影像能被操纵,增强, 存储和改变以达到传递和其他目的,使得它们有极大的被使用的可能[3]。除了具直接的临床和诊断优势, 数字化技术还有明显的保护环境的优势,包括减少了资源的使用和减少了放射剂量[3]。

     

    FAQ 的撰写者 Stephanie Jeffreys

    我希望您觉得我写的 FAQ 有帮助。  我可以在这个话题上讲好几个小时,因为它是我的爱好之一。 我希望将牙科-链接认为是能一步解决技术安装和更新的方法。我提供独有的一系列服务,集中了我喜欢的三件事—计算机, 商业管理和牙医学。我的目标是为每个从业者提供三倍和独一无二的服务。和医生和职员一起工作以制定技术计划是至关重要的第一步。 当做出计划后,我辅助诊室完成它的计划。在这期间我提供安装服务,培训服务和管理服务。而当安装完成后, 我将提供后勤服务,例如故障检修,修理,维护,额外培训和一系列管理服务。以我的经验来说, 安装后的服务和安装前和安装中一样重要。如果你有我可以帮忙解决的问题,请联系我: sjeffreys@dental-link.com

     

    [1] Schleyer TK, Thyvalikakath TP, Spallek H, Torres-Urquidy MH, Hernandez P, Yuhaniak J. Clinical
    computing in general dentistry. J Am Med Inform Assoc. 2006 May-Jun;13(3):344-52.
    [2] Rada RE. Document imaging and the patient chart: envisioning the future for your practice.
    Ill Dent J. 1995 May-Jun;64(3):127-32.
    [3] Wenzel A, Grondahl HG. Direct digital radiography in the dental office. Int Dent J. 1995 Feb;45(1):27-
    34. Review. Erratum in: Int Dent J 1995 Dec;45(6):391.

top

最新更新: Feb. 5, 2015
撰写者: Stephanie Jeffreys

 

Can't find a question? Please ask here:

enter your e-mail:


question:

Captcha code:
    Type the captcha code:




Comments:

No comments posted yet. Be the first to share your thoughts.

 

Share your thoughts, post a new comment on this page.
Login required for posting. Join the Community.

Read Terms of Use

Home
FAQ: What do you need to know about adding
technology to your dental office?
Seven Questions You Always Wanted to Ask
home ›  learning center ›  FAQ login 
  1. What would I gain from introducing technology into my dental office?
  2. How do I prepare my practice to add technology?
  3. There are so many choices how do I know what is best and should I buy everything from one vendor?
  4. Do I have to add computers, new software, digital radiography, digital photography, etc. all at once?
  5. How long will the computers last and what happens if they breakdown?
  6. How can I ensure the long-term success of my technology?
  7. What is the advantage of a digital radiograph system?

Can't find a question? Please ask here:

enter your e-mail:


question:

Captcha code:
    Type the captcha code:


     

  1. What would I gain from introducing technology into my dental office?
  2. Adding technology into your dental office can create change in your practice on many levels, from the way things are done to the way you communicate with your patients.  Technology impacts patient care, practice efficiency, and revenue.  The amount of technology you decide to use and the way that it is used determines the amount of change and benefit.

    Adding computers in the front office with practice management software can increase efficiency, productivity, patient communication, and revenue provided that your staff is well trained and knowledgeable about the software. A recent survey shows that chairside computer usage includes 77.9% scheduling, 63.9% treatment planning, 60.7% patient education, 58.2% hard tissue charting, and 54.1% periodontal charting. It also shows that  the reason dentists adopt computers at chairside fell into three categories 1. office efficiency and operations, 2. diagnosis and treatment, and 3.patient communication and perception. The top three reasons for adoption were improved data management, such as direct entry of treatment plans and appointments; digital imaging, primarily digital radiology; and improved efficiency, for instance, through scheduling directly in the operatory [1]. Digital radiography, digital photography, and operatories equipped with computers, practice management and educational software can increase the quality of patient care and education, increase treatment acceptance, streamline patient records, and increase overall office productivity and efficiency.  Again, staff training is crucial.  Once these technologies are in place others may be added for areas including diagnosis, restoration preparation, design, and fabrication to name a few.

    “One of the things I love most about being digital is that we never have to chase a chart again.”
    Dr. Mary Bennardi, Muncy, PA

    “Technology gives me an incredible amount of information about my practice and has put a spark back into practicing dentistry for me.”  
    Dr. Thomas Barberio, Muncy, PA

    “I enjoy the instantaneous recall of data, the ease of storage, and way my practice has become more efficient.  I created another operatory in the room where we used to store charts!”
    Dr. Robert Chianelli, Montoursville, PA


    top

     

  3. How do I prepare my practice to add technology?

  4. Becoming digital is an involved process and taking the time to create a great plan is one key to a successful installation or upgrade.  Evaluate your practice and ask yourself and your staff these questions: What do I like about my practice?  What would I like to change about my practice?  What existing technology do I have and want to keep?  What do I hear my patients talking about?  Do I have the right staff in place to support a shift to technology?  What training would my staff require to be successful?  What training would I require?  How much do I want to spend?  How well does my staff deal with changes?  What would I need to put in place to support these changes?  What is my timeframe?  Do I want to involve a consultant?  How much of this do I want to do myself?  What are other practices in the area offering?

    If possible, visit another practice that currently uses technology and watch it in action.  Take your staff with you and get their opinions.  Much of the success of digitizing relies on a team approach and lots of communication.  Creating opportunities for education before the first computer is in place will lessen stress and ease the transition.  Some ideas:  Have an in service day and have someone present Computers 101—maybe someone already on your staff  is computer savvy or knows someone that is.  We know from the recent survey that Fifty-eight percent of the responding dentists had taken a computer course, and 42%s rated themselves as ‘‘very comfortable,’’ with computers [1].

    Learning about digital photography is another great way to break the ice before the cameras arrive.  Taking better pictures is something your staff will appreciate at work and at home.  If you are adding to existing technology explore opportunities for your staff to build on their knowledge, which will build their confidence and your confidence in their abilities.

    Sometimes  computerizing the dental office can be done in steps [2]. Rada suggests starting with computerizing the business end of the office, then introducing dental charting [2]. As stated before, individuals in the practice must work together as a team to ensure acceptance and ability at each step in the process [2]. Further, Rada reminds us that “people need time to develop awareness, prepare for, and become skilled in using new technology” [2].

    top

     

  5. There are so many choices how do I know what is best and should I buy everything from one vendor?
  6. Every dental practice is unique and its needs and yours should dictate what is and isn’t added.  Research is another key component to adding technology.  Use continuing education, published articles, books, magazines, trade shows, your peers, the internet, consultants, and vendors to collect information.  If you use a consultant, make sure that he or she takes time to get to know you and the needs of your practice. Currently, the top in market shares include 26.2% Dentrix, 9.8% Easy Dental, 15% SoftDent, 7.9% PracticeWorks, 11% EagleSoft [1].

    Being comfortable with the technology you are adding will increase the likelihood of its success.  Component integration is helpful whenever possible. An intra oral camera that integrates into your existing delivery system creates less clutter and is more convenient, but it may not be the camera that has the features you want.  Purchasing equipment as a package has its advantages, but does not always allow you to purchase the equipment you feel is best.  It is possible to purchase from multiple vendors if care is taken to make sure that the equipment is compatible with your existing equipment and software.


    top

     

  7. Do I have to add computers, new software, digital radiography, digital photography, etc. all at once?

  8. Looking at the plan you have created for your digital office and what your office needs to implement it successfully will dictate the speed with which you introduce it.  Efforts should be made to make sure that if you space out implementation of equipment and decide to purchase it in phases that the equipment is compatible, as new or upgraded equipment may be made available during the delay.

    Some technology like digital radiography has a greatly reduced learning curve due to its similarity to what you already do daily.  Keeping this in mind you can create a custom timeline for your practice to follow.  Talking to others that have gone through the process will give you insight into the ups and downs they may have encountered and ways you may be able to avoid them.

    top

     

  9. How long will the computers last and what happens if they breakdown?
  10. Adding technology into your office will add to your replacement costs over time.  Just as you replace handpieces and cavitrons, you will need to replace your computers.  A computer should last on average 5-7 years.  Often, it is not that the computer that fails, rather as newer software  is released it requires more sophisticated and powerful components to operate it.  Creating a technology category on your yearly budget for software updates, virus protection software, back up, computer repair, computer maintenance, and equipment will help.  Any funds that aren’t expended in one year could be rolled over to the next so that a computer savings fund is created to be used when it is time to replace your computers. 

    Computers will have issues from time to time, but they can be minimized with proper maintenance.  Like our patients having regular cleanings and examines, so should our computers.  If you have a tech savvy staff member, he or she could accomplish the tasks of regular updates and hardware maintenance on a monthly or bi-monthly basis.  This maintenance prevents many of the issues that plaque computers.  If your server were to be inoperable, don’t worry you can still do dentistry.  There are now periapicals that have fixer and developer in an attached pouch.  You take the x-ray, snap the capsule in the pouch, shake the chemicals down into the pocket with the x-ray, wait two minutes and you have a pa.  Patients can fill out a medical history if necessary and all notes and charting can be done on paper to be entered at a later time. 

    top

     

  11. How can I ensure the long-term success of my technology?

  12. Consider taking continuing education classes about dental technology and creating in-service days in your office to review and learn more features of your equipment and software.  Many offices are using only a small part of their software’s capabilities.  Build upon the knowledge of your staff and have members of your staff become “experts” in certain areas of the software and hardware.  This gives them ownership and creates a “go to” person in your practice if other staff members have questions or problems. 

    top

     

  13. What is the advantage of a digital radiograph system?

  14. The reaction of patients when looking at their x-rays on a 19 inch monitor versus a 2” x 2” square on a light box is a tremendous advantage of a digital system. While most patients do not understand the nuances of an x-ray they begin to understand interproximal decay when you show them the dark area between their teeth on a 19” bitewing.  Even more critical to your practice is the time you save when taking digital radiographs. A periapical in 5 to 7 seconds versus 5 to 10 minutes. Miss the apex? Your assistant can retake the radiograph in another 5 to 7 seconds and typically the exposure for two x-rays is less than that of one traditional periapical. Digital images can be manipulated, enhanced, stored and exchanged for referral and other purposes, making them of great potential use [3]. In addition to the direct clinical and diagnostic benefits, the techniques also have distinct environmental advantages including less use of resources and reduced radiation dosages [3].

     

    FAQ written by Stephanie Jeffreys

    I hope you found my FAQ helpful.  I could go on for hours about this topic as it is one of my passions. I like to think of Dental-Link as a one-stop solution for technology installations and upgrades.  I provide a unique variety of services, combining three of my favorites things—computers, business management, and dentistry.  My goal is three-fold and unique for each practice.  Working with the doctors and staffs to create a technology plan is the crucial first step.  After the plan is complete, I assist the office in its implementation.  I provide installation services, training services, and management services during this phase.  Upon completion of the installation, I then provide support services such as troubleshooting, repair, maintenance, additional training, and a variety of management services.  It has been my experience that the services after the installation are as critical as those before and during.  If you have questions that I may be of assistance with please contact me at sjeffreys@dental-link.com

     

    [1] Schleyer TK, Thyvalikakath TP, Spallek H, Torres-Urquidy MH, Hernandez P, Yuhaniak J. Clinical
    computing in general dentistry. J Am Med Inform Assoc. 2006 May-Jun;13(3):344-52.
    [2] Rada RE. Document imaging and the patient chart: envisioning the future for your practice.
    Ill Dent J. 1995 May-Jun;64(3):127-32.
    [3] Wenzel A, Grondahl HG. Direct digital radiography in the dental office. Int Dent J. 1995 Feb;45(1):27-
    34. Review. Erratum in: Int Dent J 1995 Dec;45(6):391.

top

Last update: Feb. 5, 2015
Authored by: Stephanie Jeffreys

 

Can't find a question? Please ask here:

enter your e-mail:


question:

Captcha code:
    Type the captcha code:




Comments:

No comments posted yet. Be the first to share your thoughts.

 

Share your thoughts, post a new comment on this page.
Login required for posting. Join the Community.

Read Terms of Use